16th Exotic Beam Summer School, call for applications

gaps at triumf.ca gaps at triumf.ca
Wed Feb 22 12:14:07 PST 2017

Hi all,

See message below about an upcoming summer school.


Begin forwarded message:

> From: "Reiner Kruecken" <reinerk at triumf.ca>
> Subject: FW: 16th Exotic Beam Summer School, call for applications
> Date: February 21, 2017 at 11:45:21 PST
> To: "Jason D. Holt" <jholt at triumf.ca>
> For distribution to GAPS 

> Reiner
> --
> Dr. Reiner Kruecken
> Deputy Director, TRIUMF
> Professor of Physics, University of British Columbia
> 4004 Wesbrook Mall
> Vancouver, BC  V6T 2A3
> phone: 1.604.222.7365
> fax:   1.604.222.3791
> Accelerating Science for Canada
> Un accélérateur de la démarche scientifique canadienne
> From: FRIB User Contact [mailto:fribusercontact at fribusers.org]
> Sent: February 21, 2017 7:42 AM
> To: FRIB User Contact <fribusercontact at fribusers.org>
> Subject: 16th Exotic Beam Summer School, call for applications
> 16th Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS2017)
> July 23-29, 2017
> Physics Division, Argonne National  Laboratory
> Argonne, Illinois, USA
> The sixteenth Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS2017) will be held at
Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory from July 23-July 29, 2017
(opening reception on the evening of Sunday, July 23). The aim of the
school is to educate young researchers on the excitement and challenges
of rare isotope beam science. Through these schools, the research
community will be able to more fully exploit the opportunities created
by the next-generation exotic beam facilities, such as the Facility for
Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) in the U.S.
> A unique feature of this summer school series is the hands-on activities
where students spend their afternoons in the laboratory, learning about
the techniques and instrumentation needed to carry out experiments with
radioactive beams. In EBSS2017, the students will among others get a
chance to perform measurements with the GRETINA gamma-ray tracking
array, the Gammasphere array of Ge detectors, the Helical Orbit
Spectrometer, the Penning trap, the Fragment Mass Analyzer, including an
experiment with a heavy-ion beam from the ATLAS facility. In the
mornings, lectures on a variety of topics (experimental, theoretical,
and applied) will be given by expert speakers. A more detailed program
will be posted on the school web site.
> The lecturers of EBSS2017 are:
> R.V.F. Janssens (Argonne National Laboratory) – Frontiers of Nuclear
> G. Hagen (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) – Nuclear Structure Theory
> H. L. Crawford (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) – Nuclear
Structure Experiment
> I. Thompson (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) – Nuclear Reactions
> R. Zegers (Michigan State University) – Nuclear Reactions Experiment
> M. Syphers (Northern Illinois University) – Particle Accelerators and
Beam Optics
> C. Frohlich (North Carolina State University) – Nuclear Astrophysics
> A. Garcia (University of Washington)  - Fundamental Symmetries
> F.G. Kondev (Argonne National Laboratory)  - Nuclear Data
> D.C. Radford (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) – Neutrinoless Double-Beta
> P. Collon (University of Notre Dame)  - Accelerator Mass Spectrometry
> K. Chipps (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) – Experimental Techniques
> C. Folden III (Texas A&M University) – Super-Heavy Nuclei
> EBSS2017 is supported by DOE, NSF, and the following laboratories ANL,
LBNL, LLNL, ORNL, NSCL/MSU and ARUNA. The school, held annually, rotates
among the various laboratories and is specifically designed for graduate
students and postdocs (within 2 years of the PhD degree).
> The deadline for receipt of a completed application, including a letter
of support from the student’s advisor/supervisor, is April 15, 2017. The
application form can be found on the website. Letters of support should
be sent to glover at anl.gov.  Lodging and board expenses for the
participants will be covered by the school.
> To apply for EBSS2017, please visit the school web site: 
> Please forward this announcement to students and postdocs who might be
interested in joining EBSS2017.
> Sincerely,
> Jacklyn Gates, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
> Hiro Iwasaki, Michigan State University
> Krzysztof Rykaczewski, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
> Dariusz Seweryniak, Argonne National Laboratory (local organizer)
> Mark Stoyer, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
> Ingo Wiedenhoever, Florida State University (ARUNA representative)

sgspdcommittee mailing list
sgspdcommittee at lists.triumf.ca
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.triumf.ca/pipermail/grads/attachments/20170222/0a448c84/attachment-0002.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: EBSS2017 call for applications.pdf
Type: application/pdf
Size: 200270 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://lists.triumf.ca/pipermail/grads/attachments/20170222/0a448c84/attachment-0001.pdf>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.triumf.ca/pipermail/grads/attachments/20170222/0a448c84/attachment-0003.html>

More information about the grads mailing list