

News Release | For Immediate Release | September 30, 2015 9:00AM PST

## New Faces, Changes To TRIUMF's Leadership Team

(Vancouver, BC, Canada) – As TRIUMF embarks upon its latest <u>Five-Year Plan 2015–2020</u>, the laboratory's Director Dr. Jonathan Bagger implemented several changes to TRIUMF's management structure and senior management team.

First, **Dr. Reiner Kruecken**, former Head of the Science Division, is TRIUMF's new Deputy Director. In this new role, Kruecken will be working across Divisions to realize the laboratory's scientific vision as set out in the current Five-Year Plan, as well as to develop TRIUMF's long-term science strategy. Kruecken has led the Science Division since 2011, during which time he was involved as co-editor of TRIUMF's Five-Year Plan 2010–2015, initiated the annual ARIEL Science workshop series, and is the lead principal investigator for the <u>Isotopes for Science and Medicine NSERC CREATE program</u> at TRIUMF and UBC. Serving as a member of TRIUMF's interim leadership team during the laboratory's recent director search, Kruecken's advice and counsel was key in facilitating the transition period and the onboarding of Bagger last year.

Second, TRIUMF's Accelerator, Engineering, Nuclear Medicine, and Science Divisions will see several changes. These include:

- The Divisions are now under the leadership of Associate Laboratory Directors (ALD), formerly referred to as Division Heads.
- The Science Division has been renamed the Physical Sciences Division. Following Kruecken's appointment as Deputy Director, **Dr. Jens Dilling** has been appointed as Interim ALD of TRIUMF's Physical Sciences Division. Dr. Michael Roney, Professor of Physics at the University of Victoria and Director of the Institute of Particle Physics, is chairing the international search committee to find Kruecken's replacement.
- **Dr. Robert Laxdal** will serve as Interim ALD of TRIUMF's Accelerator Division, following <u>Dr. Lia Merminga's transition to SLAC</u>. Dr. Stephen Holmes, former ALD for Accelerators at Fermilab, is chairing the international committee that is currently charged with the search for Merminga's replacement.
- **Dr. Paul Schaffer**, former Head of TRIUMF's Nuclear Medicine Division, is now the ALD of TRIUMF's newly created Life Sciences Division. TRIUMF's Nuclear Medicine Department has been integrated into this division.

Additionally, Bagger implemented changes within the Directorate, including:

- TRIUMF's Business and Administration Division has been folded into TRIUMF's Directorate and **Mr. Jim Hanlon** has been named the laboratory's Chief Administrative Officer.
- **Dr. Anne Trudel** was named TRIUMF's Chief Safety Officer, continuing to be responsible for environment, health, and safety.
- **Mr. Sean Lee** has been named Head, External Relations, overseeing TRIUMF's relationships with government and international stakeholders, and also actively supporting the laboratory's engagement with its university members
- **Ms. Lisa Lambert** recently joined TRIUMF in the role of Head, Strategic Communications. An experienced science communications professional, she is responsible for internal and external communications, education and outreach activities, in addition to media and community relations.

For more on TRIUMF's vision for its Five-Year Plan 2015–2020, please visit fiveyearplan.triumf.ca.

###

## Media Contact

Lisa Lambert Head, Strategic Communications 604.222.7356 lisa@triumf.ca

## **About TRIUMF**

TRIUMF is Canada's national laboratory for particle and nuclear physics. Together with its partner AAPS, Inc., TRIUMF also seeks to commercialize its technologies for the benefit of all Canadians. Located on the south campus of the University of British Columbia, TRIUMF receives operating support from the Government of Canada through a contribution agreement via National Research Council Canada; the Government of British Columbia provides capital for new buildings. TRIUMF is owned and operated as a joint venture by a consortium of the following Canadian universities: University of Alberta, University of British Columbia, University of Calgary, Carleton University, University of Guelph, University of Manitoba, McGill University, McMaster University, University of Regina, Saint Mary's University, Simon Fraser University, University of Toronto, University of Victoria, Western University, University of Winnipeg, and York University. Visit us at www.triumf.ca and tweet us and follow us @TRIUMFLab.